Active Refrigeration: Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards Finalists


Finalists announced for Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards 2019

A strong field of candidates have emerged as finalists for the tenth annual Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards.

Ten awards categories recognise best practice in the New Zealand energy sector, celebrating the important contribution the industry makes to society and the economy.

Two new categories have been launched this year. The Network Initiative award recognises outstanding results from projects on electricity, gas or fuel transmission or distribution networks.

The Well-being Award celebrates organisations who have achieved excellence in caring for their people – the energy sector’s most valuable asset.

Minister of Energy and Resources Megan Woods will address an expected audience of about 650 as the awards are presented at the Cordis Hotel in Auckland on August 21.

Find out more...Factfile information
Organisation Contact Energy
First Gas
Meridian Energy


The awards are organised by Freeman, publisher of Energy News. Founding principal sponsor Deloitte continues its support of the event.

Judges were once again impressed with the quality of projects put forward and the innovation across disciplines in the sector. However, Freeman general manager Neil Wembridge says a particular feature this year was the way in which firms are embedding excellence into their business as usual operations.

“The judges recognise that isn’t easy to do, and requires considerable thought and dedication,” Wembridge says. “We are keen to celebrate this.”

Also impressive was the breadth of entries, with small specialist companies standing alongside the giants of the sector in demonstrating excellence.

Wembridge says the quality of entries this year was such that making the final stage is a considerable achievement in itself. Many entrants missed out on the final list by a whisker.

“We would certainly encourage this year’s entrants to put themselves forward again next year as initiatives mature.”

The 2019 finalists are:

Network Initiative of the Year – sponsored by Nexans

  • PowerNet – Moving on up – Invercargill CBD underground substations and link boxes relocation project
  • Counties Power – Putting the smarts in scalable customer restoration
  • First Gas – Pariroa gas pipeline bypass project

Well-being Award – sponsored by nib

  • Contact Energy – Building better workdays with Contact’s customer business
  • Eastland Group – Mind Matters – building mental well-being and resilience in the workplace
  • Meridian Energy – Healthy Minds programme

Community Initiative of the Year – sponsored by PEPANZ

  • Beach Energy – It’s time to talk Taranaki – a collaborative community well-being initiative
  • Genesis Energy – School-gen programme
  • Unison – Greatest supporter programme
  • First Gas – Community collaboration – First Gas’ Pariroa pipeline bypass project

Low Carbon Future – sponsored by Business NZ Energy Council

  • Meridian Energy – Electric vehicle business fleet initiative
  • Contact Energy – Green Borrowing Programme – lighting the way for sustainable finance
  • Sunshine Solar – Carbon zero and beyond at YHA New Zealand
  • Mevo – Redesigning the way you move – redesigning sustainability

Innovation in Energy – sponsored by Gentrack

  • Transpower – Our eyes in the sky – Transpower and Broadspectrum pioneering drone technology
  • Active Refrigeration – Christchurch Town Hall multiple modality cooling, warming and heating system
  • Contact Energy – Contact Energy lights the way for sustainable finance

Young Energy Professional of the Year – sponsored by ABB

  • Auckland Transport – Kailyn Smith
  • First Gas – Ben Gerritsen
  • Powershop – Sean Richards

Energy Technology of the Year

  • Flux Federation – White labelling energy to change the face of energy retailing
  • Genesis Energy – Energy IQ – how Genesis is engaging customers through technology
  • Vector – V2H technology – another step towards the new energy future
  • Ecobulb – $360 million energy saving screw-in retrofit Ecobulb LED downlight

Large Energy User Initiative of the Year – sponsored by EECA Business

  • Fonterra – Lower carbon dairy manufacturing:  Brightwater biomass co-firing conversion
  • Red Stag – Biomass powered sawmilling
  • Spark – Energy optimisation through major technology and infrastructure programmes


Entries are evaluated by an expert panel of independent judges. Strategy and management consultant Carmen Blackler joined the panel this year.

Former Energy Law Association president Elisabeth Welson returns to the panel she first joined in 2012 as chair. Welson is joined by Sapere Research Group director Toby Stevenson, Carbon Match founder Lizzie Chambers, independent consultant John Hancock, and Electricity Networks Association chief executive Graeme Peters.

Enerlytica director and head of research John Kidd and Petroleum Exploration and Production Association of New Zealand chief executive Cameron Madgwick lend their considerable upstream expertise to the judging panel.

Finalists for the Consumer NZ Energy Retailer of the Year - sponsored by EDMI - will be announced on July 24.

The Editor's Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sector - sponsored by Utilities Disputes - will be announced on the night.